Scholarships, Fellowships and Awards

The Department of Statistics offers many scholarships and other award opportunities to full-time graduate students who are majoring in statistics. The following information is provided to inform students and potential students about the possibilities of awards and the diversity of the criteria for these awards.

Graduate scholarships and awards are determined by a departmental committee. No applications for these awards are required. All scholarships and awards are based on academic achievement and/or potential.

For more information on these scholarships and awards, please contact:

Alicia Carriquiry
Department of Statistics and the Statistical Laboratory
1121 Snedecor Hall
Iowa State University
Ames, Iowa 50011

Phone: (515) 294-3440

Alliance for Graduate education and Professoriate (AGEP)

The university's Alliance for Graduate Education and the Professoriate (AGEP) program also provides fellowship opportunities.  This National Science Foundation program gives fellowships to students from under-represented groups.  This includes African Americans, Hispanics and native Americans.  Through this program, the Department has greatly increased its diversity.

Snedecor Award

This award honors the founder and first director of the Statistical Laboratory, George W. Snedecor, and is awarded to the most outstanding PhD candidate in the Department of Statistics. The eligible candidates are those who completed the PhD written exam in the given year.

The current award is $1,500.

Bancroft Award

This award, which honors T. A. Bancroft, former head and director of the Department of Statistics and Statistical Laboratory, is presented to a doctoral student with a concurrent MS in Statistics or joint majors in Statistics and another field.

The current award is $1000.

Kempthorne Award

This award honors Oscar Kempthorne who came to Iowa State University in 1947 and retired as a Distinguished Professor in 1989.  This award is given to one the top students in Linear Models.  Performance in Stat 500, Stat 511 and the MS written exam is used to select the recipient of this award.

Vera David Fellowship

This fellowship, in memory of Vera David, wife of past director and head H. A. David, is given to a female student who has just completed her first year of graduate studies. The scholarship is awarded on the basis of academic achievement during the student's first year.

The current award is $2000.

Richard Kleber - St. Olaf Scholarship

Through advising hundreds of Statistics and Mathematics majors at St. Olaf College, Professor Kleber guided over 50 advisees toward graduate studies in Statistics at Iowa State. A scholarship has been set up by many of these students to assist a St. Olaf student who is starting work toward a graduate degree in Statistics at ISU.

The current award is $500.

Holly and Beth Fryer Scholarship

In 1940 Holly C. Fryer received the first PhD awarded in Statistics at ISU. This scholarship was started by Holly C. and his wife Beth. Criteria for this scholarship include grades received in Statistics and related courses, performance in assistantship duties and other information that indicates a high likelihood that the student will make contributions to the Statistics profession throughout their career. The award is given after the second year of graduate studies.

The current award is $2,000.

Jebe Fellowship

Emil Jebe was an associate professor in the Department of Statistics from 1949-1959. After his death in 1996, a fellowship was established to honor him. This fellowship is awarded to one graduate assistant each year.

The current award is $3,000 in addition to a normal graduate assistantship.

Miller Fellowship

From the earnings of an endowment received by Iowa State University, the Department of Statistics may apply for one Miller Fellowship.  The fellowship provides an annual stipend to the student for three years. This fellowship is in addition to the regular graduate assistantship.

The current award is $5,000/year for three years in addition to a normal graduate assistantship.

GlaxoSmithKline Industrial Scholarship

This $1000 industrial scholarship is given to a first year graduate student who has an interest in biological applications.

Dan Mowrey Consulting Award

The Dan Mowrey Consulting Award is given to a graduate student who holds a consulting assistantship. It is given for excellence in consulting. It is sponsored by Dan Mowrey (PhD '80) who now works for Eli Lilly.

The award consists of a certificate and a check for $300.

Vince Sposito Statistical Computing Award

Outstanding potential in statistical computing is recognized by the Vince Sposito Award, given annually to a graduate student doing statistical computing in their assistantship. This award is in memory of Vincent Sposito, former professor of mathematical programming and statistical computing at ISU.

The current award is a certificate and a check for $300.

Teaching Excellence Award

The Teaching Excellence Award is given to the top 10% of teaching assistants at Iowa State University.

The award consists of a certificate, a letter from the President of Iowa State University, a cord to be worn at graduation and a check for $300

Research Excellence Award

The Research Excellence Award is given to the top 10% of students writing theses or dissertations at Iowa State University.

The award consists of a certificate, a letter from the President of Iowa State University, a cord to be worn at graduation and a check for $300.