Four Statistics Majors Invited to Join Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society

Emily Allen, Zachary Swayne, Allison Loomis, and Charles Teggatz


Four statistics majors at Iowa State University have been invited to join Phi Beta Kappa. Emily Allen, Zachary Swayne, Allison Loomis, and Charles Teggatz have been recognized for their outstanding academic achievements and commitment to the liberal arts and sciences.

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious honorary society in the United States with a history dating back to its founding at the College of William and Mary in 1776.

Membership is exclusive. Only about 10% of colleges and universities in the United States have chapters. Of these chapters, only about 10% of their liberal arts and sciences students will be invited to join. To qualify, students must be pursuing a bachelor's degree, demonstrate good moral character, and excel in liberal arts and sciences studies.

In addition to the honor of membership, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences will cover the lifetime membership fee for the newly invited students.

These four students serve as examples of dedication, scholarship, and intellectual curiosity within the university community and beyond. Their achievements are a source of pride for the Department of Statistics at Iowa State University and a testament to the value of rigorous academic inquiry and pursuit of knowledge.