August 29, 2019

Bancroft Award
Xiyu Peng

August 29, 2019


August 05, 2019

Washington DC (DATE)— Samantha Tyner of Iowa State University has been awarded a AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellowship (STPF) with a placement at the Bureau of Labor Statistics.


August 01, 2019

Hadley Wickham was given the COPSS Presidents' Award at the 2019 Joint Statistitical Meeting (JSM) in Denver, Co. The COPSS Presidents' Award, sometimes referred to as the "Nobel Prize of Statistics", is presented to a person under 41 in recognition of outstanding contrib

July 24, 2019

Iowa State University’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and College of Agricultural and Life Sciences announced today the appointment of Distinguished Professor of Statistics Daniel Nettleton, the Laurence H.

May 08, 2019

Zhu is the director of the Center for Survey Statistics and Methodology. His expertise is extremely broad, including spatial statistics, survey statistics, time series analysis, and multivariate analysis.

February 12, 2019

View the open faculty positions in the Department of Statistics.

January 23, 2019
May 01, 2018

STAT 401 has now been renumbered to STAT 587 -- same course, only the number has changed.  Similarly, STAT 447 is now STAT 588.  Completion of these two courses continues to be requirements in our graduate minor programs.

April 03, 2018


By Paula Van Brocklin, Office of the Vice President for Research

November 02, 2017

Danica Ommen, an assistant professor in Statistics, won the Stephen E. Fienberg CSAFE Young Investigator award at the 2017 International Conference on Forensic Inference. The Stephen E.

March 23, 2017

Ames, IA – University Museums, Iowa State University, is pleased to announce the live painting of 13 portraits by celebrated Iowa artist Rose Frantzen.

October 19, 2016

Iowa State University Distinguished Professor of statistics Alicia Carriquiry has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine.

June 10, 2016

After learning about the apartment fire that occurred in the early morning of June 6, we learned that three graduate students from the Department of Statistics were residents of the building.

May 27, 2016

STAT-ers has recently been recognized as an official student chapter of the American Statistical Association (ASA).  

May 27, 2016

The Iowa State University College of Business has partnered up with statistics and engineering faculty for the Master of Business Analytics program.

December 21, 2015

Congratulations to Samantha Tyner,a finalist in the 2015 Young Statisticians Writing Competition, organized by Significance and the Young Statisticians Section of the Royal Statistical Society!

October 26, 2015

Congratulations to Dan Nettleton awarded the title of Distinguished Professor which is the highest academic honor that Iowa State bestows.


Subscribe to News