June 25, 2021

The Department of Statistics held a celebration to honor the student award recipients from the spring semester. The event celebrated the achievements of several students for various awards.

June 23, 2021

Tetsuro Motoyama dropped by the department in May to say hello.  Dr. Motoyama earned a Ph.D. in Psychology and Statistics at ISU and was the co-winner (with Paul Gibson) of the Bancroft Award in 1978.  The Bancroft Award honors T. A.

June 08, 2021

The Department of Statistics partnered with the Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering (IMSE) to host a retirement reception in honor of Professor Max Morris and University Professor Stephen Vardeman in May of 2021.  Max retired in May of 2020 after 22 years at ISU, a

June 02, 2021

Sepideh Mosaferi, a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Statistics, was awarded the Edward C. Bryant Scholarship for an Outstanding Graduate Student in Survey Statistics. 

June 02, 2021

Distinguished Professor, Dr. Wayne Fuller, received the 2021 American Statistical Association (ASA) Mentoring Award.

June 02, 2021

Dr. Lily Wang, Professor of Statistics, was recently chosen as the recipient of the LAS Award for Mid-Career Achievement in Research.

June 02, 2021

Professor of Statistics, Dr. Jae-Kwang Kim, was recently selected as the recipient of the LAS Award for Outstanding Achievement in Research.

June 02, 2021

Dr. Heike Hofmann was recently chosen to receive the ISU Interdisciplinary Team Research Award.

June 01, 2021

Distinguished Professor and Departmental Chair of Statistics, Dr. Dan Nettleton, was recently chosen as the recipient of the LAS Award for Early Achievement in Departmental Leadership. 

May 24, 2021

In May, Macy Ott started as the Outreach Coordinator for the Department of Computer Science and the Department of Statistics. Macy assists our department with social media and website management as well as alumni and student relations.

April 27, 2021

Statistics Professor Dan Nordman has been named Fellows of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS).  

April 26, 2021

Statistics Professor Lily Wang was recently elected a fellow of the American Statistical Association, the world’s largest community of statisticians. 

April 16, 2021

A project co-proposed by Professor of Agronomy Brian Hornbuckle, materials science and engineering graduate student Liz Griffin and statistics graduate student Audrey McCombs received one of seven Miller undergraduate teaching grants for the 2021-2022 academic year.

April 15, 2021

Congratulations to Dr. Somak Dutta on being awarded tenure and his promotion to associate professor in the Department of Statistics at Iowa State University by the Iowa Board of Regents.

April 15, 2021

Congratulations to Dr. Emily Berg on being awarded tenure and her promotion to associate professor in the Department of Statistics at Iowa State University by the Iowa Board of Regents.

April 15, 2021

Congratulations to ISU Department of Statistics faculty Kevin Kasper on his advancement to associate teaching professor.

April 13, 2021

Sarah Nusser, professor of statistics, is leading a research team that was awarded a $300,000 grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to improve the accessibility and reusability of research data. 

April 13, 2021


Networking has always been an important part of professional development and the job search process. For sophomore Reese Manternach, networking helped lead him to his internship with Collins Aerospace this summer.

April 07, 2021

The Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS) has selected Alicia Carriquiry, President’s Chair in Statistics at Iowa State University, to be the 2021 COPSS Florence Nightingale David Award and Lectureship. 

April 06, 2021

Benjamin Litterer, a junior in data science, has been named a 2021 Goldwater Scholar.  The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship in mathematics, natural sciences and engineering in the United States.

March 30, 2021

Data Science for the Public Good Young Scholars Program team, including Professor and Professor-In-Charge of Data Science Heike Hofmann, has been selected to receive the 2021 ISU Extension and Outreach Excellence in Research-Based Programming Award.  

March 25, 2021

The Association of American Universities has selected Professor and former Vice President for Research Sarah Nusser to serve as a senior research fellow to support its work to accelerate public access to research data. 

March 24, 2021

Distinguished Professor and President's Chair in Statistics Alicia Carriquiry on winning the Zellner Medal from the International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA). 

March 16, 2021

Sophomore Ashlan Simpson has been keeping busy this summer with two internships. Majoring in both Statistics and Economics, Ashlan is a Data Research Analyst for Kingland Systems and a Special Interests Groups Researcher for Votesmart.

February 15, 2021

A paper co-authored by Associate Professor in Statistics and Veterinary Diagnostic & Production Animal Medicine Chong Wang, statistics graduate student Dapeng Hu, and statistics graduate student Paul Morris was named February Editor's Choice for the Journal Preventive Veterinary Medicine.  


Subscribe to News