Skip to main content


  • Several members of the Department of Statistics attended the 2022 Joint Statistical Meetings (JSM)    in Washington, D.C. from August 6th-11th. On August 10th, friends and alums of the department gathered to reconnect with current and former scholars from the Department of Statistics. 

    The JSM is one of the largest statistical events in the world with more than 6,400 attendees from 52 countries. The conference includes 600+ sessions, more than 1,000 students, 75+ employers, 100+ exhibitors, and more than 40 professional development courses and workshops. 

  • The Office of the Vice President of Research is welcoming 26 Iowa State University faculty members to the 2022-2023 Research Collaboration Catalysts (RCC) cohort designed to train the next generation of research team leaders. Jarad Niemi, Associate Professor in the Department of Statistics, was selected to join this group of leaders.

    Using evidence-based training, tools and resources, participating Iowa State faculty develop strong leadership skills and learn how to manage challenges that are specific to interdisciplinary collaborations to foster high-performing research teams. Participating tenured, tenure-eligible, and research term faculty were nominated as individuals who have demonstrated potential to lead future high-impact interdisciplinary research teams.

  • We are pleased to announce that University Professor Mack Shelley will return to the Department of Statistics beginning this fall.  In one sense, Mack never left, but he has had a 0% appointment in Statistics since he became chair of the Department of Political Science in 2014.  With his current service as chair of Political Science coming to an end, Mack will return to a positive (15%) appointment in Statistics.  He will help the Department of Statistics with our teaching of students majoring in social sciences. Welcome back, Mack!

  • Alicia Carriquiry's co-authored paper titled, "A clustering method for graphical handwriting components and statistical writership analysis," is one of the top 10 most downloaded articles on the Wiley Online Library.

    Carriquiry co-authored the paper with Amy Crawford and Nick Berry, who are also alums of the department. 

  • On May 25, the Department of Statistics hosted a regional conference on teaching statistics in conjunction with eCOTS (electronic Conference On Teaching Statistics). 

    The event was organized by Statistics faculty members Laura Ziegler, Anna Peterson, and Ulrike Genschel.  The conference’s keynote talk was given by Advanced Placement Statistics Chief Reader-Designate Barb Barnet, who is an ISU Statistics alum and professor and chair of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Wisconsin Platteville.

  • On May 12th, the Department hosted a gathering on the southwest lawn of Snedecor Hall to recognize the graduating MS and PhD students. The graduating students said a few words about their future plans while everyone enjoyed ice cream from the ISU Creamery.

  • Congratulations to our spring 2022 Research Excellence Award Winners:

Subscribe to RSS Feed