August 29, 2019


August 05, 2019

Samantha Tyner of Iowa State University has been awarded a AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellowship (STPF) with a placement at the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

August 01, 2019

Hadley Wickham was given the COPSS Presidents' Award at the 2019 Joint Statistitical Meeting (JSM) in Denver, Co. 

July 24, 2019

Iowa State University’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and College of Agricultural and Life Sciences announced today the appointment of Distinguished Professor of Statistics Daniel Nettleton, the Laurence H. Baker Chair in Biological Statistics, as chair of the Department of Statistics

July 10, 2019

A team of Iowa State University graduate students beat nearly 150 teams from 114 universities in 28 countries, bringing home the top prize from the 20th annual Data Mining Cup. 

May 08, 2019

Zhengyuan Zhu, professor of statistics and director of the Center for Survey Statistics and Methodology honored with professorship

February 12, 2019

The Department of Statistics has open faculty positions

December 19, 2018

Department of Statistics 2018 newsletter is now available.

May 01, 2018

STAT 401 has now been renumbered to STAT 587 -- same course, only the number has changed.  Similarly, STAT 447 is now STAT 588.  Completion of these two courses continues to be requirements in our graduate minor programs.

April 03, 2018

After reviewing dozens of applications, Iowa State University’s Plant Sciences Institute (PSI) has named nine faculty members to the second cohort of PSI Faculty Scholars. Faculty selected represent three of the university’s eight colleges – Agriculture and Life Sciences, Engineering, and Liberal Arts and Sciences.

February 06, 2018

Israel A. Almodóvar-Rivera (Ph.D., Iowa State Statistics, 2017 and currently Assistant Professor in the Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology at the University of Puerto Rico) won second place in the 2018 Student Paper competition of the American Statistical Association's (ASA) Section on Medical Devices and Diagnostics

November 17, 2017

The Department of Statistics 2017 newsletter is now available 

November 02, 2017

Danica Ommen, an assistant professor in Statistics, won the Stephen E. Fienberg CSAFE Young Investigator award at the 2017 International Conference on Forensic Inference. 

March 23, 2017

Distinguished Professor Alicia Carriquiry selected to be one of thirteen ISU Faces to be painted 

October 28, 2016

The Department of Statistics 2016 newsletter is now available 

October 19, 2016

Iowa State University Distinguished Professor of statistics Alicia Carriquiry has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine.

June 10, 2016

After learning about the apartment fire that occurred in the early morning of June 6, we learned that three graduate students from the Department of Statistics were residents of the building. Hengfang Wang, Xiaofei Zhang, and Shan Yu (not pictured) lost their homes and all of their possessions.

May 27, 2016

STAT-ers has recently been recognized as an official student chapter of the American Statistical Association (ASA)

May 27, 2016

The Iowa State University College of Business has partnered up with statistics and engineering faculty for the Master of Business Analytics program.

December 21, 2015

Congratulations to Samantha Tyner,a finalist in the 2015 Young Statisticians Writing Competition

October 26, 2015

Congratulations to Dan Nettleton awarded the title of Distinguished Professor which is the highest academic honor that Iowa State bestows. It recognizes faculty members whose accomplishments in research or creative activities have had a significant impact on their discipline, and who have demonstrated outstanding performance in at least one other area of faculty responsibility.


Subscribe to News