Skip to main content


  • The Statistics Department chose 10/20 as their day to represent their participation in the Green Dot Awareness Initiative on campus by wearing green.  Green Dots can be found around Snedecor Hall this month to state their willingness to learn and understand how to help raise awareness of emotional and sexual violence on campus and beyond.

    A green dot is any choice, behavior, word or attitude that promotes safety for everyone and communicates utter intolerance for power-based person violence in our Iowa State University community. A green dot is anything you do to make our community safer. 

    Department of Statistics faculty and staff wearing green to support the Green Dot initiative

  • Jon Hobbs, Department of Statistics alum, is the recipient of this year's Lew Allen Award at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

    Hobbs completed a co-major PhD in statistics and meteorology from Iowa State in 2013. He started at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in 2014 as a postdoctoral researcher and advanced to his current position of data scientist in 2016. 

    The Lew Allen Award is the most prestigious early career award that JPL offers. It comes with a monetary prize, and a research stipend to be used by the awardee to conduct research of his/her choice. Dr. Hobbs was selected for outstanding accomplishments in research and development of uncertainty quantification approaches for atmospheric retrievals.

  • On October 15th the department held a retirement party honoring Marlene Tjernagel. The event took place outside of MacKay hall where hot cider and cake were provided. 

  • STAT-ers gathered to play cricket at Innes Grove Park on Saturday, October 9th.

  • On October 5th, department staff, faculty, and their families met up for a group hike on the Reactor Woods trail in North Ames. After the hike, participants enjoyed homemade ice cream provided by Karen Nettleton. 

  • Congratulations to the 2021 graduate student award winners!

  • Congratulations to the following statistics students on their scholarships and awards for the 2021-22 school year!

Subscribe to RSS Feed