June 26, 2020

Sepideh Mosaferi has been named the 2020 Wray Jackson Smith Scholarship Awardee.  The scholarship is given by the American Statistical Association Government Statistics Section and the Social Statistics Section.

June 08, 2020

The work of Lily Wang and her team (including former student Xinyi Li and current students Shan Yu, Myungjin Kim, Yueying Wang, and Zhiling Gu) on COVID-19 is featured in this month's AMSTATNEWS and

May 28, 2020

Associate Professor Jarad Niemi joined the COVID-19 Forecast Hub in early April. The Hub aims to collect COVID-19 forecasts in a central location with a standardized format.

May 22, 2020

This spring, Professor Heike Hofmann won the LAS Award for Outstanding Achievement in Teaching.  Professor Karin Dorman won the LAS Award for Inclusive Excellence.  Congratulations to both Heike and Karin for these well-deserved honors.

May 14, 2020

On May 8, 2020, the Department of Statistics held a virtual graduation celebration for MS and PhD students leaving our program this spring or summer.  Students shared their future plans and received congratulations and thanks.  Major professors had wonderful things to say about their de

May 05, 2020

Statistics undergraduate student Cameron Stocker competed in the College of Liberal Arts Entrepreneurship and Innovation Academy's pitch competition during the early spring semester.

April 23, 2020

Statistic's Department Chair Dan Nettleton writes "Congratulations to Distinguished Professor Alicia Carriquiry and the CSAFE team on securing another $20M of funding over the next five years.  It is great to see CSAFE's many accomplishments and plans for the future recognized and supported

April 14, 2020

Data reveals that COVID-19 spread continues throughout Iowa and signals that social distancing has reduced transmission rates

March 02, 2020

Distinguished Professor Bill Meeker has been selected to receive the George Box Medal "for his outstanding contributions to the statistical analysis of reliability data and to industrial statistics in general, by promoting the close cooperation between statistics and the fundamental science under

March 02, 2020

STAT-ers game night was held on February 28, 2020.  Congratulations to Matt Stuart, winner of the poker tournament.  Laura Ziegler represented the faculty well with her second straight runner up finish.  Despite his bold pre-tournament predictions, Dan Nettleton was

February 12, 2020

Cameron Stocker, ISU senior in statistics, is a runner-up winner in the LAS Pitch Off competition, held February 10. In the competition, students delivered a 90 second pitch about an idea or business they are working on.

January 24, 2020

    Four graduate students from the Department of Statistics at Iowa State University won American Statistical Association Student Paper Awards in the 2019 competitions.  Congratulations to Xiyu Peng, Sepideh Mosaferi, Fan Dai, and Yawei Ge for their outstanding work

January 21, 2020

Congratulations to Xiyu Peng who won an American Statistical Association Student Paper Award from the Section on Statistics in Genomics and Genetics.  Xiyu's award-winning paper is titled "AmpliCI: A High-resolution Model-Based Approach for Denoising Illumina Amplicon Data" and is co-au

January 21, 2020

Congratulations to Sepideh Mosaferi who won an American Statistical Association Student Paper Award from the Sections on Social Statistics, Government Statistics, and Survey Research Methods.

January 21, 2020

Congratulations to Yawei Ge who won an American Statistical Association Student Paper Award from the Sections on Statistical Computing and Statistical Graphics.  Yawei's award-winning paper is titled "A Grammar of Graphics Framework for Generalized Parallel Coordinate Plots" and is co-a

January 21, 2020

Congratulations to Fan Dai who won an American Statistical Association Student Paper Award from the Sections on Statistical Computing and Statistical Graphics.  Fan's award-winning paper is titled "A Matrix-Free Method for Exploratory Factor Analysis of High-dimensional Gaussian Data" a

November 21, 2019


Sepideh Mosaferi, a 3rd year statistics PhD. student, has recently been inducted into the Golden Key International Honor Society. The Golden Key is the world’s largest collegiate honor society and membership is by invitation only.

August 29, 2019

Bancroft Award
Xiyu Peng

August 29, 2019



Subscribe to News